Skip to content
September 27, 2016 / barton smock

reflections on [marshland moon]/ poems by eleanor gray, Dink Press 2016

reflections on

marshland moon
poems
eleanor gray
(Dink Press 2016)

order, here:
http://dinkpress.bigcartel.com/product/marshland-moon-by-eleanor-gray

~

“(it is nothing, is nothing

…and so, where fables began)” – from [Lady’s Slipper]

After reading:

if there is no card

the flowers
are
from loss.

I didn’t know how to end things. I threw a soft doll

at a bullet.

I was trying to be quiet
but silence

it has
a safe word.

The way swimming plays with my shadow. The prop

high-chair.

~

During:

The missing child learns a new word. Not from me. Not that I remember. Our favorite program? A previously ruined nostalgia.

“a nameless sensation which perpetually haunts the body” – from [and then, Monsters]

I have a look I want to give loss.

“I want to say goodbye, I want
time to say goodbye” – from [Skeletal, Furred]

In my dreams I am ugly. In my dreams I am not differently awake.

“and so, what then of
colossal sleep,  – from [Zero Beauty]

~

Remnant and Root:

“there is no language that can articulate what it is I suffer by, or do not suffer by- like all the sufferings suffers I am…” – from [Inactive Currency]

“/ do I even know of longing / I know of being held / “ – from [Wormwood]

“how do I
…love the very gnat of self” – from [Plox]

“holy, holy the black asterisk of wound
for the child I never was” – from [Languid Limbo]

“ ‘murmur’  I had forgotten the word
ash without meaning, death without purpose”

“-I am
a song, an urn, a stairwell” – from [Susurrus]

~

This is a book. The title, to me, is very alone…and, intimacy, the most distant of permissions.

~

barton smock, reflections on marshland moon / poems / eleanor gray / (Dink Press 2016)

book:
http://dinkpress.bigcartel.com/product/marshland-moon-by-eleanor-gray

person, eleanor gray:
http://smakka–bagms.tumblr.com/

Leave a Reply

