Skip to content
September 7, 2016 / barton smock

Nothing Good Ever Happens After Midnight, poems by Sarah Marcus (GTK Press, 2016)

reactions to [Nothing Good Ever Happens After Midnight], poems by Sarah Marcus (GTK Press, 2016)

available here: https://guidetokulchur.com/nothing-good-ever-happens-after-midnight-sarah-marcus

thief

I can live knowing it goes missing. but, it being here, toppled from its rightful place…I can’t live knowing there are two. that it has no plural. that I have to say it twice. that I am asked on my deathbed about deathbeds in general.

bear

can we talk about bears. no, can you. that’s what I mean. I mean I want to listen. is there a bear I can learn about apart from the others?

panic

can we say muscle memory is the orphaned narrative of a bilingual body? that a house is so clean its rooms disappear? can we say home?

book, even?

the empty room released into the wilderness.

reader

this book by Sarah Marcus. while you still exist.

“Find a midwife whose name sounds like a spell.” – from Do-It-Yourself

“…Water
finds a way out. When I enter a
room, I locate water.” – from I Didn’t Know

“I research how to remove a body: a strange erasure, an omen.” – from Fetching Water

“Her dismantled den. Her dismantled den.” – from Den of Thieves

Leave a Reply

