Skip to content
August 5, 2016 / barton smock

{xo}

[depictions of reentry], poems, barton smock, 146 pages, Aug 2016

book preview on site is book entire

free PDF: send request to bartonsmock@yahoo.com

free hard copy to those interested in reviewing: send request to bartonsmock@yahoo.com

available here:
http://www.lulu.com/shop/barton-smock/depictions-of-reentry/paperback/product-22812020.html

/

poems, from:

~depictions of reentry (xi)

and in dreaming
of what to use
for its body
and its blood

the devil
began

to starve / when it snowed
it snowed

on a tooth / this was in

the same
Ohio

where brothers
ruin
now

with hiccups

games
of hide-and-seek

/ anyway, sister said the crow had it coming

and I made this face we called

god
as a boy
tasting
a star…

~depictions of reentry (xii)

mom needs a jar of jelly to call the priest. try as he might, my brother can’t seem to get his tongue stuck to the oven door. my hands are here to hide the fact I’m wearing gloves. dad snaps three pictures before passing out. the voodoo dolls of my invisible babies have passed each other underground. I am thinking of things you can do.

~depictions of reentry (xiii)

a suicide
from my past,

a surprise
party
for death…

/ if I lose my voice long enough
will they let me
wear
the mask

~depictions of reentry (xiv)

the newborn
yawns, reveals

god
to be
a biter

I don’t
in my sleep
do anything

let alone
impressions

it’s hell on an image

the mirror’s
alibi

Leave a Reply

